

Ebensburg Borough Council Reorganization Meeting Tuesday, January 2, 2018 6:30 p.m.

Phone: 814-472-8780 E-Mail: eburg@ebensburgpa.com Website: www.ebensburgpa.com

Borough Council

Susan Barber John Cobaugh Cecilia Houser Theresa Jacoby Dave Kuhar Scot May Doug Tusing

> Mayor Randy Datsko

AGENDA

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS OF OFFICE

District Judge Fred Creany will administer the oath of office to newly re-elected Mayor Randy Datsko, then to newly elected Councilor Scot May and re-elected Councilors Theresa Jacoby and Doug Tusing, then to re-elected Tax Collector Charlene Remillard.

CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Datsko will call the reorganization meeting to order and lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Members of the public are invited to comment at this time on any item appearing on the agenda.

1. ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Mayor Datsko

The mayor will open the floor for nominations for president. A nomination does not require a second. At some point, a motion will be made to close nominations. Nominees are voted upon one at a time in the order in which they were nominated. The Mayor calls for a voice vote of those in favor of each candidate being elected president, and for those opposed. Once any nominee receives a majority of votes, the election is over. Council members are permitted to vote for themselves. The Mayor has no vote unless needed to break a tie.

2. ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE-PRESIDENT

Mayor Datsko

The same procedure is followed for election of the vice-president.

Once both officers are elected, the president assumes the chair from the Mayor.

3. ADMINISTRATIVE APPOINTMENTS

Council President

The administrative appointments may be made individually or by a single motion.

Item 3A: Appoint Pawlowski, Homady & Long as Borough Solicitor.

Item 3B: Appoint the Borough Manager as Secretary/Treasurer.

- Item 3C: Appoint the Borough Manager as Zoning Officer.
- Item 3D: Appoint the Borough Manager as Property Maintenance Enforcement Officer.
- Item 3E: Appoint L. R. Kimball as Borough Engineer
- Item 3F: Designate First National Bank, First Commonwealth Bank, AmeriServ Financial Bank, 1st Summit Bank and PLGIT as depositories.

4. APPOINTMENTS TO AUTHORITIES, BOARDS & COMMISSIONS

The appointments to authorities, boards and commissions may be made individually or by a single motion.

Item 4A: Ebensburg Municipal Authority

Reappoint Gerald McMullen to a 5-year term, expires 12/2022.

Item 4B: Ebensburg Planning Commission

Reappoint Rich Barber to a 4-year term, expires 12/2021.

Item 4C: Ebensburg Zoning Hearing Board

Reappoint Margaret Stephan to a 3-year term, expires 12/2020.

Reappoint Harold Eckenrod to a 1-year term as alternate, expires 12/2018.

Item 4D: Ebensburg Main Street Partnership

Reappoint Carol Myers and Carol Rummel to 5-year terms, expire 12/2022.

Item 4E: Ebensburg Recreation Board

Reappoint Hillary Yahner and Rose Marie Sadosky to 5-year terms, expire 12/2022.

Item 4F: Ebensburg Civil Service Commission

Reappoint Dennis Glass to a 6-year term, expires 12/2023.

Item 4G: Vacancy Board

Appoint Charles Moyer to a 1-year term, expires 12/2018.

Item 4H: Central Cambria Emergency Management Council

Reappoint John Hawksworth to a 1-year term, expires 12/2018. Reappoint Chief Mike Sheehan to a 1-year term, expires 12/2018.

Item 4I: Cambria Somerset Council of Governments

Reappoint Borough Manager as delegate.

Item 4J: Cambria County Tax Collection Committee

Reappoint Borough Manager as delegate.

Reappoint Mary Ann Kaschalk, Central Cambria School District Business Manager, as

alternate.

Item 4K: Cambria County Sewage Enforcement Agency

Reappoint Tracy Strom as delegate.

Reappoint Borough Manager as alternate.

Item 4L: Laurel Municipal Inspection Agency Reappoint Borough Manager as delegate.

Reappoint Tracy Strom as alternate.

5. MEETING DATES

Item 4E: Designate the 4th Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. for monthly meetings of Council during 2018, except May and December, which will be held on the third Monday.

6. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

The President may assign committees tonight, or delay until January meeting. Current committee assignments are as follows:

Administrative – Susan Barber, Dave Kuhar & Theresa Jacoby Water & Wastewater – Dave Kuhar & Cecilia Houser Recreation – Susan Barber & Theresa Jacoby Streets – Cecilia Houser, John Cobaugh & vacant

7. OTHER BUSINESS

8. MEDIA COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

Representatives of the media are invited to comment and ask questions at this time on any issues, whether or not on the agenda.

9. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Members of the public are invited to comment at this time on any issues, whether or not on the agenda.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Copies of all staff reports and documents subject to disclosure that relate to any item of business referred to on the agenda are available for public inspection the Thursday before each regularly scheduled meeting at the Borough office, located at 300 West High Street, Ebensburg, Pa. Any documents subject to disclosure that are provided to members of the Borough Council regarding any item on this agenda are available for public inspection at the Borough office or at www.ebensburgpa.com.

In accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Borough office (814) 472-8780 or eburg@ebensburgpa.com. Notification 48-hours before the meeting will enable the Borough to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.