

Ebensburg Borough Council Reorganization Meeting Monday, January 4, 2016 6:30 p.m.

Phone: 814-472-8780 E-Mail: eburg@ebensburgpa.com Website: www.ebensburgpa.com

AGENDA

Borough Council

Susan Barber John Cobaugh Cecilia Houser Theresa Jacoby Dave Kuhar V. Joseph Miller Doug Tusing

> <u>Mayor</u> Randy Datsko

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS OF OFFICE

Mayor Randy Datsko will administer the oath of office to newly elected Councilor John Cobaugh and re-elected Councilors Susan Barber, Dave Kuhar and Cecilia Houser and then to newly elected Tax Collector Charlene Remillard.

CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Datsko will call the reorganization meeting to order and lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Members of the public are invited to comment at this time on any item appearing on the agenda.

1. ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

The mayor will open the floor for nominations for president. A nomination does not require a second. At some point, a motion will be made to close nominations. Nominees are voted upon one at a time in the order in which they were nominated. The Mayor calls for a voice vote of those in favor of each candidate being elected president, and for those opposed. Once any nominee receives a majority of votes, the election is over. Council members are permitted to vote for themselves. The Mayor has no vote unless needed to break a tie.

2. ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE-PRESIDENT

The same procedure is followed for election of the vice-president.

Once both officers are elected, the president assumes the chair from the Mayor.

3. ADMINISTRATIVE APPOINTMENTS

The administrative appointments may be made individually or by a single motion.

Item 3A: Appoint Pawlowski, Homady & Long as Borough Solicitor.

Mayor Datsko

Mayor Datsko

- Item 3B: Appoint the Borough Manager as Secretary/Treasurer.
- Item 3C: Appoint the Borough Manager as Zoning Officer.
- Item 3D: Appoint the Borough Manager as Property Maintenance Enforcement Officer.
- Item 3E: Appoint L. Robert Kimball & Associates as Borough Engineer
- Item 3F: Designate First National Bank, First Commonwealth Bank, AmeriServ Financial Bank and PLGIT as depositories.

4. APPOINTMENTS TO AUTHORITIES, BOARDS & COMMISSIONS

The appointments to authorities, boards and commissions may be made individually or by a single motion.

Item 4A:	Ebensburg Municipal Authority Reappoint Doug Tusing to a 5-year term, expires 12/2020.
Item 4B:	Ebensburg Planning Commission Reappoint Mike Bradley to a 4-year term, expires 12/2019.
Item 4C:	Ebensburg Zoning Hearing Board Reappoint Barry Templeton to a 3-year term, expires 12/2018. Reappoint Harold Eckenrod to a 1-year term as alternate, expires 12/2016.
Item 4D:	Ebensburg Main Street Partnership Reappoint Brian Strenko and Christina Koren to 5-year terms, expire 12/2020. Vivian Keilman's term has also expired, and a replacement will be recommended next month.
Item 4E:	Ebensburg Recreation Board Reappoint Eric Rummel to a 5-year term, expires 12/2020.
Item 4F:	Ebensburg Civil Service Commission Reappoint Tom Bortel to a 6-year term, expires 12/2021. Reappoint Maggie Jubas to a 1-year term as alternate, expires 12/2016.
Item 4G:	Vacancy Board Reappoint Robert Datsko to a 1-year term, expires 12/2016.
Item 4H:	Central Cambria Emergency Management Council Reappoint John Hawksworth to a 1-year term, expires 12/2016. Reappoint Jeff Evans to a 1-year term, expires 12/2016.
Item 4I:	Cambria Somerset Council of Governments Reappoint Borough Manager as delegate.
Item 4J:	Cambria County Tax Collection Committee Appoint Borough Manager as delegate. Appoint Mary Ann Kaschalk, Central Cambria School District Business Manager, as alternate.

- Item 4K: Cambria County Sewage Enforcement Agency Reappoint Tracy Strom as delegate. Reappoint Borough Manager as alternate.
- Item 4L: Laurel Municipal Inspection Agency Reappoint Borough Manager as delegate. Reappoint Tracy Strom as alternate.

5. MEETING DATES

Item 4E: Designate the 4th Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. for monthly meetings of Council during 2016, except December, which will be held on the third Monday.

6. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

The President may assign committees tonight, or delay until January meeting. Current committee assignments are as follows:

Administrative – Susan Barber, vacant & Theresa Jacoby Water & Wastewater – Dave Kuhar & Cecilia Houser Recreation – Susan Barber & Theresa Jacoby Streets – Cecilia Houser, vacant & Joe Miller

7. OTHER BUSINESS

8. MEDIA COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

Representatives of the media are invited to comment and ask questions at this time on any issues, whether or not on the agenda.

9. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Members of the public are invited to comment at this time on any issues, whether or not on the agenda.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Copies of all staff reports and documents subject to disclosure that relate to any item of business referred to on the agenda are available for public inspection the Thursday before each regularly scheduled meeting at the Borough office, located at 300 West High Street, Ebensburg, Pa. Any documents subject to disclosure that are provided to members of the Borough Council regarding any item on this agenda are available for public inspection at the Borough office or at <u>www.ebensburgpa.com</u>.

In accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Borough office (814) 472-8780 or eburg@ebensburgpa.com. Notification 48-hours before the meeting will enable the Borough to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.