The reorganization meeting of the Ebensburg Borough Council was called to order Monday, January 6, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. at the Ebensburg Municipal Building, 300 W. High Street, Ebensburg, PA by Mayor Randy Datsko.

Present:	Doug Tusing Susan Barber Dave Kuhar Joseph Miller Theresa Jacoby
Others:	Randy Datsko, Mayor Daniel Penatzer, Borough Manager Blair Pawlowski, Borough Solicitor Terry Wyland, Police Chief Danea Koss, Community Development Director Liam Anderson, Tax Collector
Absent:	Cecilia Houser Joe Lutz

Audience:

- 1. Mayor Randy Datsko led the Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. District Judge Fred Creany administered the oath of office to elected tax collector, Liam Anderson, newly elected Councilors Theresa Jacoby and Joseph Miller and re-elected councilor, Doug Tusing.
- 3. **Public Comments** None.

1

4. Election of Council President

Mayor Datsko opened the floor for nominations for Council President. Mr. Kuhar nominated Mr. Tusing for President. Mr. Miller made a motion that nominations be closed. (Barber). Motion passes unanimously.

5. Election of Council Vice President

Mayor Datsko opened the floor for nominations for Council Vice President. Mr. Miller nominated Ms. Barber for Vice President. Ms. Jacoby then made a motion that nominations be closed. (Kuhar) Motion passes unanimously.

6. Mr. Tusing assumes the chair.

7. Administrative Appointments

- A. Mr. Kuhar made a motion to make the following Administrative Appointments. (Miller) Motion passes unanimously with one abstention to item f. (Jacoby) due to employment.
 - a. Appoint Pawlowski, Homady & Long as Borough Solicitor.
 - b. Appoint the Borough Manager as Secretary/Treasurer.
 - c. Appoint the Borough Manager as Zoning Officer.
 - d. Appoint the Borough Manager as Property Maintenance Enforcement Officer.
 - e. Appoint L. Robert Kimball & Associates as Borough Engineer.

Reorganization Meeting January 6, 2014 Page 2 of 3

f. Designate First National Bank, First Commonwealth Bank, AmeriServ Financial Bank and PLGIT as depositories.

8. Appointments to Authorities, Boards, and Commissions

Ms. Barber made a motion to make the following appointments. (Kuhar) Motion passes unanimously.

a. Ebensburg Municipal Authority

Colman Anna reappointed to a 5-year term, expiring 12/2018.

- b. Planning Commission Rich Barber reappointed to a 4-year term, expiring 12/2017.
- c. Ebensburg Zoning Hearing Board Carol Rummel reappointed to 3-year term, expiring 12/2016. Harold Eckenrod reappointed to a 1-year term as alternate, expiring 12/2014.
- d. Ebensburg Main Street Partnership Audrey Liscomb reappointed to 5-year term, expiring 12/2018. Matt Shutty reappointed to 5-year term, expiring 12/2018.
- Ebensburg Recreation Board Charles Marcinko reappointed to 5-year term, expiring 12/2018 Mike Bradley appointed to fill the unexpired term of Susan Wasilewski, expiring 12/2016. Eric Rummel appointed to fill the unexpired term of Cecilia Houser, expiring 12/2015.
- f. Ebensburg Civil Service Commission Ronald Stempka reappointed to a 6-year term, expiring 12/2019 Dennis Glass appointed to fill the unexpired term of Joe Lutz, expiring 12/2017.
- g. Vacancy Board Robert Datsko reappointed to a 1-year term, expiring 12/2014.
- h. Central Cambria Emergency Management Council John Hawksworth and Jeff Evans reappointed to 1-year term, expiring 12/2014.
- Cambria/Somerset Council of Governments Borough Manager reappointed to 1-year term, expiring 12/2014.
- j. Cambria County Tax Collection Committee Borough Manager appointed as delegate. Mary Ann Kaschalk, Central Cambria School District Business Manager, appointed as alternate.
- k. Cambria County Sewage Enforcement Agency Patti Carnes appointed to a 1-year term, expiring 12/2014.
- 9. Mr. Miller made a motion to accept Resolution #2014-01 authorizing all full-time office staff, including all full-time clerks and the Borough Manager, to receive and receipt any and all real estate tax and local services tax payments on behalf of the Ebensburg Borough Tax Collector. (Kuhar) Motion passes unanimously.

10. 2014 Meeting Dates

Mr. Kuhar made a motion to designate the fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. and the third Monday of May and December for the monthly meetings of Council in 2014. (Barber) Motion passes unanimously.

Reorganization Meeting January 6, 2014 Page 3 of 3

- 11. **Council Committees** Mr. Tusing will solicit input from new Council members and make committee appointments at the next Council meeting.
- 12. Other Business None.
- 13. Media Comments/Questions None.
- 14. **Public Comments** Mayor Datsko thanked Council on behalf of Mr. Robert Datsko for his reappointment to the Vacancy Board.

There being no further business, Ms. Jacoby made a motion to adjourn. (Barber) Motion passes unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Minutes recorded by:

Danea Koss Community Development Director