The reorganization meeting of the Ebensburg Borough Council was called to order Monday, January 2, 2024 at 6:30 p.m. at the Ebensburg Municipal Building, 300 W. High Street, Ebensburg, PA by Mayor Randy Datsko.

Present:	Doug Tusing Jeffrey Ball
	Theresa Jacoby
	Cecilia Houser
	Mike Murphy
	Dave Kuhar
	Robert Miller
Others:	Randy Datsko, Mayor
	Kelly Cook, Borough Manager
	Danea Koss, Community Development Director
	Matt Gribler, Pawlowki, Long & Gribler

Audience: 4

- 1. Mayor Randy Datsko led the Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Mayor Datsko administered the oath of office to newly elected Councilor Mike Murphy and to reelected councilors Dave Kuhar, Cecilia Houser and Jeff Ball.
- 3. Public Comments None.

### 4. Election of Council President

Mayor Datsko opened the floor for nominations for Council President. Mr. Ball nominated Mr. Tusing for President. Ms. Houser made a motion to close nominations. Motion passed unanimously. Vote in favor of naming Mr. Tusing as President was unanimous.

#### 5. Election of Council Vice President

Mayor Datsko opened the floor for nominations for Council Vice President. Mr. Ball nominated Ms. Houser for Vice President. Ms. Jacoby made a motion to close nominations. Motion passed unanimously. Vote in favor of naming Ms. Houser as Vice President was unanimous.

Mr. Tusing assumed the chair, thanked fellow Council members and congratulated the newly elected member and reelected members.

#### 6. Administrative Appointments

- A. Mr. Tusing requested a motion to confirm the administrative appointments listed below. Ms. Jacoby made a motion to make the following administrative appointments. (Houser) Motion passed unanimously.
  - a. Appoint Pawlowski, Long & Gribler as Borough Solicitor.
  - b. Appoint the Borough Manager as Secretary/Treasurer.
  - c. Appoint the Borough Manager as Property Maintenance Enforcement Officer.
  - d. Appoint TranSystems Corporation Consultants as Borough Engineers.
  - e. Designate First National Bank, First Commonwealth Bank, AmeriServ Financial Bank, 1<sup>st</sup> Summit Bank and PLGIT as depositories.

#### 7. Appointments to Authorities, Boards, and Commissions

Reorganization Meeting January 2, 2024 Page 2 of 3

- A. Mr. Tusing requested a motion to confirm the appointments to authorities, boards and commissions listed below. Ms. Jacoby made a motion to make the following appointments. (Miller) Motion passed unanimously.
- a. Ebensburg Municipal Authority Renee Martin-Nagle, PhD reappointed for a 5-year term expiring 12/2028.
- b. Ebensburg Zoning Hearing Board Margaret Stephan reappointed to 3-year term, expiring 12/2026.
- c. Ebensburg Recreation Board Philip Woo reappointed to 5-year term, expiring 12/2028.
  d. Ebensburg Recreation Recred
- d. Ebensburg Recreation Board Rory Coleman reappointed to a 5-year term, expiring 12/2028.
- e. Ebensburg Civil Service Commission Dennis Glass reappointed to a 6-year term, expiring 12/2029.
- f. Ebensburg Civil Service Commission Tim Myers reappointed as the alternate for a 1-year term, expiring 12/2024.
- g. Vacancy Board Charles Moyer reappointed to a 1-year term, expiring 12/2024.
- h. Central Cambria Emergency Management Council John Hawksworth and Mike Sheehan reappointed to 1-year terms, expiring 12/2024.
- i. Cambria Somerset Council of Governments Borough Manager reappointed as delegate.
- j. Cambria County Tax Collection Committee Borough Manager reappointed as delegate. Appoint the Central Cambria School District Business Manager as alternate.
- k. Laurel Municipal Inspection Agency Borough Manager appointed as delegate.

# 8. 2024 Meeting Dates

Ms. Houser made a motion to designate the fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m., except May and December, which will be held on the third Monday, for the monthly meetings of Council in 2024. (Miller) Motion passed unanimously.

# 9. Other Business – None.

# 10. Media Comments/Questions – None.

### 11. Public Comments – None.

There being no further business, Ms. Houser made a motion to adjourn. (Ball) Motion passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 6:57 p.m.

Minutes recorded by: Danea Koss Community Development Director